LIARS, CHEATERS AND THIEVES

I’ve been debating if I wanted to write anything on the latest round of PED use in Major League Baseball.  This latest revelation of users involved with BIOGENESIS is sadly not very surprising.  It’s also makes me sick!  Having to explain to my 6 year old son about all of this is something that I was forced to do.  I had to explain that players like Ryan Braun and A-Rod are liars, cheaters and thieves.

I cannot stand a liar.  I know that everyone lies at one point or another, but that does not make it right.  If you lie to me and I find out it causes me to have little trust in you.  When raising my children, I have caught them in lies on multiple occasions.  I have tried to teach them that no matter how bad the truth is it is always better than lying.  I want them to trust me and know that I love them no matter what.  However, when it comes to professional athletes I have no personal relationship.  Most of us fans don’t.  Yet, they still continue to lie to us as if we are peons.  We see our elected leaders lie to us constantly as well.  Lying has become more than accepted by some in today’s culture and it’s not surprising that these players did as well.  BUT IT’S STILL WRONG!!!!!

Then you take into account that each of these men are cheaters!  Here are just two definitions of the word cheat.  CHEAT-verb-Act dishonestly or unfairly in order to gain an advantage.  CHEAT-noun-A person who behaves dishonestly to gain an advantage.  Both of these definitions are appropriate.  I have little trust in a man who would lie and cheat.  It says a lot about a persons character in my opinion.

Finally, it is my opinion that these men that lied and cheated are also thieves.  I feel that they should be forced to pay back all of the money that have stolen from the fans and the organizations they have played for.  I know this will not happen, but it’s how I feel personally.  They let their bank accounts continue to grow and grow.  They continued to lie and cheat.  That’s a thief to me!

It comes down to the fact that these men are not making moral choices.  Instead, their greed for money, fame and performance outweigh integrity and truth.  It is a moral choice to cheat and they should be held accountable.  I feel all cheaters should be banned from the game!  I know it’s harsh for some to hear, but that’s how I feel.  Especially, when I have to explain it to a 6 year old who doesn’t understand why a grown man would do such things.

4 comments

  1. The Cub Den

    It’s wrong either way you slice it. I think the biggest crime is the kids. in fact, the players should be forced to do PSA’s to children explaining why they did it and not just, “Drugs are bad”

    • strictlycubsbaseball

      That is a great idea Mark! Forcing them to be honest about their cheating and sending a message to our children that they were wrong. I doubt it would ever happen, but I like the idea.

  2. Dave

    If they are a proven cheat. Stats removed, out of the game for life. Their career never happened.

    Nothing wrong with asterisks in the record books indicating not proven but, suspected. There must be a reason for the suspicion.

    If arms, and heads grow several feet in circumference, I might just be questioning their right to be in the game.

    To think there was a time we only had to weed out pitchers salivating over the baseball.