RELATIONSHIPS AT WORK

All kinds of rumors involving the Cubs manager search as of late.  I’m pretty confident that Rick Renteria has the best chance at getting the job.  I’m also still hoping that Mike Maddux would be put on the short list, but that is not looking very promising.

Regardless of who becomes our new manager, there are a lot of issues that he will have to address next year.  It seems to me that our chemistry as a team and the relationship between Theo & Co. and several players need to improve.  We don’t have that veteran presence and leadership in the clubhouse and that does hurt.  We have traded away most of our leaders or allowed them to leave via free agency under Theo & Co..

In addition to that, Dale Sveum didn’t have the best relationship with several players including Starlin Castro, who put up the worst numbers of his short career in 2013.  I know what it is like to go to work everyday and have conflict.  I’m sure that’s what was happening for several of the younger players in the Cubs clubhouse.

Where I work, I have a co-worker that is constantly making things difficult for everyone else.  I will call him, BIG JOE.  You never know what kind of mood Big Joe will be in when you go to work each day.  He constantly causes divisiveness between other staff members as well.  I think that may have been one of many problems last year with the Cubs.

Now I know my work is nothing like a big league clubhouse.  But personal relationships and being able to get along with co-workers(teammates) is important.  It makes for a better working environment.  Whoever the Cubs hire for their new manager, I hope he is able to address this issue.

We have several young players that are talented.  Hopefully, our new manager can unite these players into something more than a team.  My hopes would be a family like atmosphere in the clubhouse in 2014.  Something similar to the 1979 Pirates would be great, but we don’t have a 39 year old Willie Stargell to lead the team.

Just my thoughts for today.

