Yoenis Cespedes

Okay, this 26 year old Cuban outfielder is starting to generate a lot of interest with Spring Training right around the corner.  I’ve been reading a bit more on him as of late and here’s my thoughts that I would like to share with you.

First, he has a ton of talent and it’s obvious when you look at his stats from the Cuban league.  In 2011, he managed to hit .333 with 33 HR’s, 99RBI’s, 11 SB’s, with 49 Walks and 40 strikeouts in 354 at bats.  From 2004-2011 he hit under .300 only one time.  I truly believe he’s the real deal.

With that said, I think he’s capable of .285 average with over 20 HR’s in his first MLB season depending on how quickly he adjusts to MLB pitchers.  The quicker he adjusts the better his stats will be.

I think the Marlins will be the team that lands him and I think it’s going to happen soon.  I would love my Cubs to sign him, but I don’t think it’s going to happen.  Miami actually makes a lot of sense to me with its large Cuban population and the new stadium and all the money they’ve been spending this off-season.  Imagine Cespedes in a lineup with Stanton, Reyes, Ramirez, Sanchez and more.  It’s scary!!!

 

3 comments

  1. Minoring In Baseball

    Yeah, he’s a hot commodity, but at the same time, he’s not 19 and he’s never set foot on a Major League field. He’ll be overpaid, and under the microscope, so we’ll see how thing work out for him. I wouldn’t mind the Tigers picking him up, but they don’t have a ton of money to throw around anymore, and probably wouldn’t know how to use his speed anyway.
    –Mike

  2. Emma

    Haha Sportsattitudes, that was funny.
    Marlins is a good guess where he could land. They seem to have the money there. I have a friend there that she is so happy with the direction of the Marlins. Might go see the stadium this year.
    Emma