Cubs Sign Cuban

Wow, the Cubs signed a Cuban player but not the one I was expecting.  We ended up getting an 18 year old left handed starter named Gerardo Concepcion.  I’ve read that the Cubs are interested in Yoenis Cespedes and Jorge Soler, both outfielders, but didn’t realize we were interested in the young lefty.  I think this is a good sign by Theo & Jed and just adds another young arm to our farm system.  I may have to adjust my rankings for my 2012 Top Cubs Pitching Prospects.  I also hope the Cubs are able to sign one of the outfielders as well.

5 comments

  1. Michael David

    Maybe I’ll see Conception play if he’s assigned to Peoria this season. This could end up being a really good long term signing for the Cubs. Best of luck to him.
    –Mike
    ‘Minoring In Baseball’

    • strictlycubsbaseball

      Jeff, you are right, it was worth over $7 million. Not sure the exact number just yet. The Cubs are also going to have a new baseball academy in the Dominican. Sounds like they are serious about building from the ground up for the first time ever! It will take time, but it’s better than wasteful spending like they’ve done in the past.

      Ron

  2. This is a very simple game...

    Theo & Co. were interested enough to sign him. Color me intrigued. I haven’t heard as much about Cespedes lately since I heard he struggled a bit in Winter League. That doesn’t necessarily mean anything about future performance, but if it cools the interests of a few of his other suitors, all the better for you.
    — Kristen