Winter Meetings Almost Here!

I am getting excited!  The anticipation is almost like a child waiting for Christmas morning so they can open their presents.  Next week’s Winter Meetings have gotten me excited as they do every year.  However, this year I expect the Cubs to really be active.  I am betting on trades and free agent signings to happen with Theo at the helm.  I’m still aggravated that he allowed Greg Maddux to leave and that he didn’t bring back Ryne Sandberg.  However, if he can put together a winning team all will be forgiven.

The acquisition of David DeJesus was a great signing.  It was an inexpensive move as well.  Now we need to strengthen our pitching staff, find a left handed slugger (Prince…maybe) and make some trades.

Speaking of trades, I would love to see the Cubs trade Alfonso Soriano and Carlos Zambrano.  I doubt we will be able to trade both of these players, but I think we can swap at least one of them.  I’m betting that Soriano may be playing for another team in 2012 and it will most likely be in the AL.
I’ve also read that the Cubs may shop Matt Garza around.  I really, really like Garza.  However, if we are able to get a bountiful return for him then I have no problem letting him go.  I don’t see Theo and Hoyer accepting a trade for him without getting 4-5 minor league players in return.

Next week is kind of like a holiday for me.  I am a baseball nerd who loves this part of the off-season and cannot wait for it to begin.

2 comments

  1. Jeff

    Just as long as they don’t try sending Soriano back to Texas. I was surprised to see Maddux leave. I didn’t see that coming at all.

  2. sportsattitudes

    Indeed, I think the “hot stove” league is on boil and the lid is about to come off. These meetings and the resulting transactions help bridge the gap between the World Series and Spring Training. Fun time for sure.