WIN STREAK OVER

Well, it was short and sweet.  The Cubs 3 game winning streak is over with last night’s 3-2 loss to the Brewers.  We pounded out 10 hits, but only scored 2 runs on a homer by Ramirez in top of the first inning.  Milwaukee scored 3 in bottom of the first and that was it for scoring.  I’m not surprised we lost.  The Brewers are a very tough team to beat at home.  Hopefully, we can win tonight.

The trade deadline is quickly approaching and I expect the Cubs to make some trades soon.  I can see several of our veterans being traded away and I think that’s probably the right move to make.  Fukudome, Pena, Soriano, Grabow and Byrd all could help several teams in the pennant race right now.  I expect that once Carlos Beltran is traded by the Mets the flood gates will open and several trades will be made.  Should be interesting to see who we trade and who we get in return.  I also anticipate several of our minor league players to get called and gain some valuable experience.

6 comments

  1. WrigleyRegular

    I don’t know whats gonna happen over the next week with trades, but I am looking forward to the final two months of the year. Hopefully they can play some good baseball in Aug and Sept

  2. macbeth11

    I hope Pena doesn’t get traded. Fukodome’s gone, that’s for sure. I hope Byrd stays too, but I doubt it. I’ve got this inkling that there’s going to be a blockbuster coming up.

    —Mark Gauthier
    http://cubden.mlblogs.com/

  3. mlblogsbluejaysnest

    I imagine Pena will be gone since he’s a free agent and all. If I were the Cubs I’d sell as many vets as possible and play the prospects now and get them used to the big leagues and gear up for 2012. Not much else to lose right now, the current team just isn’t working for one reason or another.

    http://bluejaysnest.mlblogs.com/

  4. The Wizard of Ozzie

    The name I keep hearing to be on the move is Pena. Hopefully your Cubbies can at least get some good prospects out of these deals, so next year isn’t as miserable as this one.
    Catherine

  5. This is a very simple game...

    Yeah, I keep hearing Aramis Ramirez’ name linked with my team in the rumors…to be honest I don’t like the idea, not for what they keep talkng about giving up. Also he doesn’t sound like he wants to leave which is a recipe for disaster for any team that takes him.
    — Kristen

  6. bob3472

    After seeing Fukudome getting traded to Cleveland, I imagine that Pena is next. Also, I’ll be shocked if Byrd gets traded. He is to valuable to the Cubs and what team really wants/needs him? There are better and cheaper options than Byrd.
    Bob:Soxoholics
    http://soxoholics.wordpress.com/