BYRD, ALL STAR VOTING & COLORADO

Well, I wasn’t very pleased with the three game series the Cubs just played against the Red Sox.  We were fortunate to win one game, but the Red Sox were simply the better team.  There were some things that happened in the series that I thought I would talk about though.  The first being Marlon Byrd getting beaned in the face.  If you haven’t seen it then I suggest you look it up.  It was terrible. I was surprised that Marlon was able to maintain consciousness after getting hit.  It was obvious he was in an extreme amount of pain.  I wish him a quick and full recovery.  The pitcher who beaned Byrd, Alfredo Aceves, did not appear to hit him on purpose.  I believe it was a pitch that just got away from Aceves and unfortunately Byrd was unable to get out of the way.  Also, several Red Sox players were concerned about Byrd throughout the game and were asking Cub players for updates.  With Byrd being out for a while I imagine that Reed Johnson will get the majority of the playing time in center field.  I also look for Tony Campana to get some more playing time as well.  I also wonder who the Cubs will call up when Byrd is placed on the DL.

Well, I’ve voted for the All Star teams a few times now and I believe that there are only two Cubs deserving  of my vote at this time.  Starlin Castro and Darwin Barney.  Unfortunately, I have to write-in Barney’s name since he isn’t listed on the ballot.  If you look at these two player’s stats and compare them to all of the other players at their respective positions I think it’s obvious that they deserve your vote.

Finally, it appears I will have to go to Denver in July for something work related.  While I’m out there I plan on going to see the Brewers and Rockies do battle.  I’ve never been to a game at Coors Field, but I’ve hear great things about it.

4 comments

  1. This is a very simple game...

    Byrd is some kind of strong to have remained concious and walking after that hit. I couldn’t watch the replay on the news without covering my eyes it was so bad. I join in all the wishes for a full and speedy recovery. That said, I agree, that wasn’t on purpose. Just one of those terrible, freak things.
    — Kristen