READ ABOUT ME

I have changed the “Read About Me” section on this blog a few times.  However, I wanted to update it again and share the new update as a post as well. 

I guess you could say I am addicted to baseball.  To begin with, I was born the day Willie Mays retired from baseball.  I grew up playing some form of baseball almost everyday.  Wiffleball, little league, hot box and strat-o-matic were the most common ways I was able to get my baseball “fix”.  I was fortunate to have two uncle, Jonathan and David, to play with and to learn the game from.  They always made the game fun for me. 

I loved to watch the Cubs on WGN too.  Sometimes I would go to my great-grandparents house and watch the games with them.  My great-grandmother loved Ryne Sandberg while my great-grandfather was a big fan of Lee Smith, Jody Davis and later, Andre Dawson.  The game of baseball and the Cubs provided me with a special connection with my great-grandparents.  They also had a decent size back yard that we often turned into a wiffleball field.  They would sit in a swing and watch my uncles, cousins, friends and myself play until dark had to call the game.  Those were great times.

I consider myself a baseball purist to some extent.  I love day games, grass fields, and don’t care too much for the DH.  I’m happy watching a 1-0 shutout or an 8-7 slugfest.  I like players that stay on one team their entire career.  I believe it is okay to boo a player when you expect more out of them.   I wish MLB scheduled more double headers.  I’ve been to spring training in Florida multiple times but not Arizona…..yet.  All in all, baseball is my favorite game and the Cubs are my favorite team. 

I am Cub fan living in deep southern Illinois which is dominated by Cardinal fans.  Just to give you an idea of how far south I live I can be in Kentucky in less than an hour.  It would take me close to six hours to get to Wrigley Fields and two hours to get to Busch Stadium. 

In addition to baseball and the Cubs, I enjoy basketball and football too.  I root for the Chicago Bulls, North Carolina Tar Heels, Eastern Illinois Panters and Dallas Cowboys.  For the record, Michael Jordan is the greatest player to ever play basketball in my opinion.  It doesn’t hurt that MJ and Ryno each wore 23.  What a great number if you are a Bulls and Cubs fan!

Today, I am married to a beautiful woman who happens to be a Yankees fan.  Since our marriage we both have grown fond of each other’s team.  I have two children with one more on the way and I love teaching my kids about baseball and watching Cub games with them.  My kids know how to sing the Take Me Out to the Ballgame and Go Cubs Go.  I am truly blessed and thank the Lord for all that I have. 

5 comments

  1. blithescribe

    It sounds like you have a lot to be thankful for. Congratulations to you and your wife on the new baby on the way! Very cool!
    I am with you on the baseball purist thing. I preferred the post season with no central division or wild cards. I hate overspecialization in pitching. I love tough pitchers who go deep into games and don’t give up the ball until the manager kicks them off the mound. I agree, day games are the real deal baseball experience…but I would be lying if I said I don’t appreciate night games. Without them, I could only catch a live game on the weekends.
    Kristen
    This is a very simple game…

    • Adriana

      one louderI would agree w/ the otrehs. its the only way I know is to wear it a lot. what I do is buy it a size bigger cuz when you sweat the hat shrinks to fit and is much more comfortable than trying to stretch a smaller one.

  2. The Cub Den

    I put the Go Cubs Go song on the ipod and when our son gets a little cranky, I play it for him and it calms him down a bit, but he loves The Grinch song. Of course we have to sing it to him.

    —-Mark Gauthier
    http://cubden.mlblogs.com/

  3. ronlang44

    @Virginia-Thank you for your comment. I hope that my kids appreciate and enjoy baseball as the continue to grow.
    @Kristen-I like night games too, but in a perfect world I wouldn’t have to work and could watch baseball all day long!
    @Mark-My kids loved Veggietales and we have 2-3 CDs that we always kept on hand for them to listen to. Now they want to watch cartoons like Arthur or Wild Kratts all the time.

    Ron