A FEW IDEAS FOR THE FUTURE

I have had some ideas that I have touched on in the past that I believe would better the game of baseball, but I wanted to reiterate a couple of those ideas again.  The first of these ideas is a salary cap and the second is expansion.

When I suggest imposing a salary cap in baseball I know a lot of fans and players would probably be against it initially.  However, my idea has a twist to it.  Have a maximum and minimum team salary.  The max could be $150 million and the minimum $75 million.  I am using team payrolls that I found for the 2010 season.  You can take a look at them here.  Only the Red Sox and Yankees would be affected by my maximum salary cap.  However, my minimum salary cap would affect 12 teams.  I believe that with this salary cap that the players would benefit greatly as well as the fans.  If owners don’t want to increase their spending to reach the minimum salary cap then I suggest they sell their teams to potential owners that will.  We need more owners willing to spend money.  I know Mark Cuban would make a great owner and would be willing to spend the money.  I think having this cap would make baseball as a whole more competitive.  

My next idea is expansion.  I only suggest this if my salary cap idea were to happen.  I truly believe that the cap and expansion go hand in hand.  The salary cap would make expansion possible.  Here are a few cities I think MLB would be able to expand to.  San Antonio, Salt Lake City, Las Vegas, Charlotte, San Juan and maybe Vancouver. I would like to see MLB to add two more teams to have a total of 32.  There would be 16 in each league consisting of four divisions with four teams in each division.  Eliminate interleague play and have a balanced schedule.  If necessary, go back to a 154 game schedule.  

These are just a couple of my ideas that I think would make the game of baseball more competitve and exciting.    

12 comments

  1. russelw

    I’d love to see baseball add two more teams but I just don’t see it happening anytime soon.

    As for a salary cap; i’m not in favor of a cap, but their should be a minimum. I like the current system that charges a “tax” for teams that go over the “soft cap”. But if teams like NY or Boston are charged the tax which is then split up evenly between all other teams, those teams should be forced to spend the money up to the minimum salary floor.
    http://wrigleyregular.mlblogs.com/

  2. ronlang44

    Russel-I think the minimum salary would be effective and make baseball better. That’s why I made such a large spread between maximum and minimum caps.
    I also don’t see expansion happening anytime soon either, but I hope it does some day.

    Ron

  3. The Cub Den

    I would love to see a team in Vancouver. I think there’s a market there. Montreal rejoining the league would be great, but not in the near future because they need a new stadium.

    I don’t see Vegas happening. Teams don’t generally do well there and I think it is chalked up to gambling. I don’t know? I like your salary cap idea. It’s long overdue and would create more balance.

    —Mark Gauthier

    http://cubden.mlblogs.com/

  4. ronlang44

    Mark-I thought about Montreal, but it would have to be done right starting with a new stadium like you said. As for Vancouver, my only question is if there is a baseball market there. I don’t know, but it’s a thought. It’s fun to toy around with ideas like these.

    Ron

    http://strictlycubsbaseball.mlblogs.com/

  5. bigpapi72

    There is one problem with setting a minimum salary, guys are going to get overpaid. For example for a team like the Pirates to meet the minimum they might have to pay say Andrew McCutchen a ton of extra money,

    Also, I’m not sure about Vegas or San Juan. However, Charlotte wouldn’t be so bad. Same thing with San Antonio and Vancouver.

    Bob: Bostonball
    http://bostonsports.mlblogs.com/

  6. bigpapi72

    There is one problem with setting a minimum salary, guys are going to get overpaid. For example for a team like the Pirates to meet the minimum they might have to pay say Andrew McCutchen a ton of extra money,

    Also, I’m not sure about Vegas or San Juan. However, Charlotte wouldn’t be so bad. Same thing with San Antonio and Vancouver.

    Bob: Bostonball
    http://bostonsports.mlblogs.com/

  7. ronlang44

    Bob-thanks for sharing! I agree with your comments completely. When I was coming up with cities I was trying to think of metropolitan areas that already have sports franchises as well as some new cities to consider. Also, the minimum salary idea is mainly to get owners to spend money to keep players at home instead of losing them on the free agent market. I did not consider that some players would be overpaid. Thanks for pointing that out.

    Ron

  8. cubfan_joe

    Due to a free market society MLB can’t really tell a team how little to spend on a team. I’m not in favor of a salary cap, an owner should have limitless funds to aquire the best talent possible.

    I am also not in favor of expansion, by adding two more franchises it waters down the talent. That’ll be 50 extra players in MLB, not to mention the minors. Contraction is needed more than expansion.

    But I am in favor of eliminating interleague play, either have every team play every team or get rid of it all together. It makes for unfair schedules.

    http://pessimisticcubfan.mlblogs.com/

  9. Jane Heller

    Sorry, but I don’t agree on either point. There’s no need for a salary caps, since teams like the Yankees and Red Sox are shelling out big money in luxury tax already and you can’t force teams like the Pirates to spend money if their owners don’t want to. As for expansion, there’s enough of a diluted talent pool as it is. No more teams!

    http://janeheller.mlblogs.com

  10. ronlang44

    @CubfanJoe-I definitely don’t want to water down baseball. But I do think that the talent has the potential to grow over the next decade. I hope so at least.
    @Jane-My main idea behind a salary cap is to get more owners to spend money. We have too many “fat cats” making money, even off of the luxury tax, and aren’t reinvesting it into their clubs. That’s got to stop.

    As for expansion, I know baseball isn’t ready for it yet, but down the road (at least 10 years) I think it will be and these are just a few cities that could be possibilities.

    Ron

  11. the_phanatic_addict

    I agree with Jane. There really just isn’t enough talent out there to keep the teams competitive. I don’t really see how a salary cap would help baseball. The luxury tax thing is a crap. It does not deter teams from blowing it. MLB is a league of free enterprise. I hate to say it but teams need to market themselves better, draft better, and scout better. There are plenty of teams with no money that are pretty good. The Rays draft very well, so they remain competitive, but have no money. As do the Marlins, A’s and soon the Nationals.

    There are plenty of teams with tons of cash that straight up blow. Look at the Mets. They have tons of money but their team is horrible.

    Sorry to to rant.

    Michael

    http://phanaticaddict.mlblogs.com/

  12. Michael David

    If there would be expanision, the cities I’d like to see get a team are either Indianapolis or Louisville. Both have a rich baseball history. I really don’t think two extra teams would water down the talent pool that much. Look at all of the Indy Pro teams out there. I think between the players in the States, latin counties, and the asian countries, the talent pool is deeper than ever. Lots of college players get overlooked now that might get a chance.
    –Mike
    ‘Minoring In Baseball’
    http://burrilltalksbaseball.mlblogs.com