HERE WE GO AGAIN WITH THE MATT GARZA RUMORS!!!

I just received a phone call from my buddy Dave from Denver.  He says, “Have you heard the news?”  I said, “No, what news?”  Well, I go to my computer and pull up MLB Trade Rumors only to discover that the Cubs and Rays are close to a deal involving Matt Garza.  Now, I’ve obsessed about Garza earlier this offseason.  I want him, but I don’t want to overpay!  It looks like we are trading away at least 4 minor leaguers!  Outfielder Brandon Guyer, that’s okay with me.  Catcher Robinson Chirinos, I can live with this one.  RHP Chris Archer, this one kind of stings.  And shortstop Hak-Ju Lee……..OUCH!!!!!!!!!   Losing Lee in this potential trade hurts.  I truly believe he is a future leadoff hitter and excellent defensive shortstop.  Heck, there may be more players involved in the deal and it’s not finalized just yet.  As long as we don’t give up Brett Jackson or Chris Carpenter too!  Anyway, at least Jim is making a move.  I just hope he doesn’t trade away too much talent. 

11 comments

  1. ronlang44

    That’s tough to swallow if the deal goes through. When you trade away 3 of your top 10 prospects you better get something great in return. I really like Garza, but that’s a lot of talent to let go. I’m not too worried about Chirinos. He’s stuck behind Soto, Hill and Castillo. We also have a couple of catchers in Steve Clevenger and Michael Brenly in our system too. Plus, Chirinos will be 27 in June so he’s no youngster.

    Ron

  2. daverader1@yahoo.com

    Buster_ESPN The general perception of proposed Cubs-Garza deal from rival evaluators: Cubs give up a lot of volume,but no real can’t-miss star prospect.

    Buster_ESPN More from the evaluators:Archer is the key to the deal; Lee has high upside, but real questions. Guyer more liked by stats guys than scouts.

    SI_JonHeyman archer and lee are better players going to #rays in garza deal. as many as 8 players involved. could be 5 going to rays for 3

  3. daverader1@yahoo.com

    Buster_ESPN Buster Olney
    Another evaluator concurs with view of others: the Rays didn’t get much in the way of high-end prospects; more depth type guys than impact.

    JonathanMayoB3 Jonathan Mayo @ I’d agree, with Archer and Lee having some good upside, though ~

    Buster_ESPN Buster Olney Heard the same thing — upside, but not high-end prospects. Other teams say Rays were picking from one of worst systems.

    SI_JonHeyman Jon Heyman
    rhp chris archer and ss hak-ju lee are top prospects going to tampa. but #cubs kept cashner, colvin, castro, jackson, mcnutt

    JonathanMayoB3 Jonathan Mayo @ I have heard some people who think Lee could be as good/perhaps better than Castro if he fulfills potential

    SI_JonHeyman Jon Heyman
    appears hustling outfielder sam fuld, great kid, also going to tampa in garza deal. fuld family trivia: uncle richard ran lehman bros.

  4. ronlang44

    Thanks Dave for all the info.
    @Pittpeas-I hope he does well in the NL Central and for the Cubs. He better since we gave up so much to get him.

    Ron

  5. ronlang44

    Russel, I’m glad we got him, but I hated trading away that much talent. I still haven’t heard who the 3rd player from Tampa is yet. Hopefully, it’s one of their better prospects.

    Ron

  6. ronlang44

    It appears the final player in the trade the Cubs will get is Zach Rosscup. He’s a LHP and is 22. That’s all I know about him as of right now. I think we won’t be able to truly judge this trade until a few years from now, but it was a move the Cubs needed to make.

    Ron