“THIS IS THE YEAR”—RON SANTO

Okay, I’m not a poet.  However, I love baseball and the Cubs.  For some reason, some words came to mind recently and I had to share them.  Hope you enjoy!

“Wait til Next Year”, that’s what we say
and “It’s Gonna Happen”…..maybe someday.

Over one hundred years have gone by
and many of players have given their best try.

We fans are loyal, diehard and true
that’s why we wear our cubbie blue.

Year in and year out it’s always the same
win or lose we love this game.

We are not filled with jealousy or greed
a world series win is all that we need.

So all we are asking for in 2011,
is a little piece of baseball heaven.

This year is about to end and a new one is set to begin

I say, “have no fear”
Like Santo once said, “This is the year”!

GO CUBS GO!

3 comments

  1. ronlang44

    Thanks Kristen, but what you wrote the other night was brilliant! I am in no way creative like that!

    Ron

  2. The Cub Den

    Great poem!. I have a good feeling this year, something big is going to happen with the Cubs.

    Go Cubs Go!

    I downloaded the Go Cubs Go song for our son. He doesn’t quite understand it yet.

    –Mark Gauthier