Peavy, The Padres and Their Fans

During the winter months and early into spring training I was hoping the Cubs would make a deal for San Diego’s ace pitcher, Jake Peavy.  That trade never happened even though I still wish it would.  Then this week Peavy rejected a trade that would send him to the White Sox.  That made me very happy.  If the Pads do trade Peavy to someone besides the Cubs I pray it’s not the White Sox or Cardinals.  Anyway, Peavy pitched against the Cubs last night and I knew he was gonna bring his “A” game.  What I really appreciated though was the reaction by the Padres fans.  They showed their respect last night to Peavy for choosing to stay a Padre.  They also showed their class by cheering loudly for newly acquired Tony Gwynn, Jr.  Living in the midwest I don’t know any Padres fans and rarely get to see them play on tv.  But last night these fans displayed class and respect for Peavy and Gwynn.  They cheered the way fans should.  Jake Peavy is a class act.  Take for example last night after Carlos Zambrano hit David Eckstein with a pitch in the first inning.  Bobby Scales led off the second inning for the Cubs and Peavy hit him in the right thigh area.  He did what he was supposed to do.  But the classy thing about it was the fact that he didn’t go head hunting.  He wasn’t there to hurt Scales.  He did it the right way.  Even though the home plate umpire gave warnings to both teams I don’t believe their was any anger between the teams.  

Now the Cubs need to figure out how to score some runs.  Over the last week it seems the team has forgotten how to get guys to cross homeplate.  It’s frustrating!!!!  We have too much talent on this team to struggle the way we are right now.  

5 comments

  1. John Photos

    As long as we have 3-4 guys in the lineup hitting .200, we’re not going to score many. Frankly, we’re lucky to be above .500.

  2. stupidhorse

    thank you for the compliment regarding San Diego Padre fan support. It has been an interesting transition for me living in SD since 1997. I am a transplanted Yankees fan and love the Padres as my underdog National League favorite team. My boys are going up loving the Padres and the frustration is the fact that the fans rarely truly show up. San Diego is a very interesting weird market for baseball. I have a hard time with most everyday Padre fans because they are very quick to turn their backs on the team when needed the most. It was only a week or so ago when Chris Young last pitched and the stadium was empty. Today (during a 8 game winning streak) the stadium was packed! The sad truth is if the team went into another funk…. stadium will be empty. Dont get me wrong I know there are die hard loyal fans but the unfortunate majority are bandwagoners…… thanks again

  3. ronlang44

    Julia-I love it when fans show resect for the game.

    John-I hope they bring Jake Fox up from Iowa. He’s slugging the ball and they need someone to liven up the offense.

    Holly- Thanks for the comment. Older fans need to teach younger fans respect for the game. And sometimes younger fans can do the same. I plan on checking out your blog too.

    Yankee fan in San Diego-I don’t have that much experience with Padre fans, but hopefully they can develop a strong and loyal fan base soon. I cannot imagine what it’s like being a Yankees fan on the west coast.