Carlos Zambrano and C.C. Sabathia

Whew!!!  Carlos Zambrano.jpgCarlos Zambrano, aka Big Z, looks like he’s gonna be okay.  I hope Lou sits him out for a couple of weeks.  Let him get rested up for the stretch C.C. Sabathia.jpgdrive.  We are going to need him if we want to win the Central and capture home field advantage for the playoffs. 

While I am at it, I think the Cubs need to add another arm to the starting rotation.  My choice is C.C. Sabathia of the Cleveland Indians.  Imagine him and Big Z at the top of the rotation.  It would be a tough lefty-righty 1-2 combination at the start of any seven game series.  Go with a 4 man rotation of Zambrano, Sabathia, Ryan Dempster and Ted Lilly.  However, I think the Cubs need to make the move soon.  Let him get adjusted to the National League and his potentially new teammates. 

Maybe I am just dreaming a bit, but it would be a great move.  He has never had a losing season in his career.  And even though he is off to a 5-8 start this year, I think he would win a lot of games for the Cubs. 

When it’s all said and done, I expect the Cubs brass will inquire about Sabathia and make an offer for him.  And even if they don’t succeed in getting Sabathia I expect them to bring on another starting pitcher to help them down the stretch. 

2 comments

  1. 1bderek25

    C.C. would be a good choice, but who would we be willing to part with? No question, we need another starter—especially with Z missing one, maybe two starts. And when comes back you know he’ll be on a pitch count.

    • ronlang44

      As much as I like Sean Marshall, I would have to say he would be involved in the deal. I could also see Kevin Hart and Matt Murton being involved too. I wouldn’t think the Indians would want Felix Pie and I’m not sure if the Cubs would even be willing to trade him. Who knows, maybe Rich Hill and Sean Marshall for C.C. could work.

      With Big Z going to the 15 DL and then the All Star break around the corner I think he’s going to get plenty of rest. Which I think is good for us. And I don’t see Lou letting him throw over 100 pitches when he first returns.